Club Committee 2017/18

President: Greg Lovett (

Greg gained his Bronze Medallion in 1985 at MacMasters SLSC and brings his extensive lifesaving experience to our community.  He is the Director on a number of companies and his knowledge is invaluable in guiding our surf club through its transition to a professionally run organisation. Greg is a Patrol Captain and a regular on the beach each Sunday during the Nipper season, teaching our future lifesavers. #YOTC

Vice President: Dr. Rob Slade


Rob gained his Bronze Medallion in 2005 in the first training squad undertaken at the Club. He is an experienced Marine Biologist, having trained at UQ and has a PhD in the molecular population genetics of the southern elephant seal. He is a former small business owner and has been instrumental in managing the progress of our clubhouse development. He has served on the Salt committee for 6 years, as Secretary, Captain and Vice President.

Secretary: Kareen Smith (

Kareen gained her Bronze Medallion in 2009 and has been a Patrol Captain for a number of years. She has spent many years as a Personal Assistant in the corporate world and her extensive organisation skills help keep the club compliance and administration running smoothly. She is a Level 1 Surf Sports Official and March Past coach and is in her 3rd year on the committee. 

Treasurer: Dr. Chris Gunther (


Chris gained his Bronze in 2016 at Salt SLSC. His professional experience extends across service, retail, distribution and wholesale industries as well as manufacturing, construction, hospitality and not-for-profit. He has worked with Mobil Oil, Power Constructions, Barclays Bank, Namibia Breweries, Ernst & Young, Franklins, RCI and the News Group of Companies. Chris holds numerous degrees and qualifications in Management Accounting, Accounting and Finance. Chris is also a highly awarded university lecturer, teaching at a postgraduate and executive level and has served in an advisory capacity to the NSW Government. He has a PhD in the disciplines of Management Accounting, Strategy, Corporate Governance and Organisational Control. Chris has joined the committee this year. 

Captain: Jeff Smith (

Jeff gained his Bronze Medallion in 2010 at Salt SLSC and is a level 1 Sports Coach. He is a small business owner and brings a wealth of knowledge to the management of teams and leadership. Jeff served as Junior Activities Coordinator for 4 years at Salt SLSC, where Salt produced many junior lifesavers that still patrol today.  He is in his 2nd year as Club Captain and has overseen an increase in Patrol quality and flexibility, taking the average patrol-hours per member down from an unsustainable 60+ a year to the mid-thirtys.

Junior Activities Coordinator: Adam Wright (

Adam gained his Bronze Medallion in 2014 at Salt SLSC. He has been Junior Activities Coordinator for the last 2 seasons and has overseen the continued development of the Salt nipper program. A survivor of the Bali Bombings, his energy and positive outlook on life ensures that we take every opportunity to appreciate life and do our best to keep the beaches safe. 

General Committee: Ben Clements

Ben gained his Bronze Medallion in 1997 at Glenelg SLSC. He has performed Patrol Captain duties for a combined 8 years, and served on the Glenelg executive committee for 8 years, as Club Captain and Secretary, where he is still an honorary Vice President. A veteran of many Australian Titles competitions, he has coached beach athletes at several large QLD surf clubs and brings his extensive lifesaving experience to our Club. He has served as Junior Activities Coordinator for 2 years and General committee member for another 2 years. 

General Committee: Rob Blyth

Rob gained his Bronze Medallion in 1986 at Dixon Park SLSC. He is an Engineer and was Project Manager on the Kingscliff Central Park redevelopment.  His experience with major developments and project management brings valuable skills to the management of our club.  He is a Patrol Captain and Level 1 Sports Coach and a regular helper at nippers and Club events. 

Junior Sub-Committee 2017/18

Junior Activities Coordinator: Adam Wright

Junior Secretary: Jodie Payne

Age Managers Coordinator: Simon B

Carnival Manager: TBA

Weekend Activities Coordinator: TBA

Promotions: TBA


Clothing Sub-Committee 2017/18

Uniform Manager: Wendy (

Clothing Manager: Mandie


Building Sub-Committee 2017/18

  • Rob Slade
  • Greg Lovett
  • Ben Clements
  • Rob Blyth